ADVERTISMENT

Dumb

New Carjacking Scheme
Status Hoax
Comments

Blue Mountain Cards was the target of false warnings that opening a greeting card on their website would cause systems to crash.
DescriptionJared Schutz, Executive Director
Blue Mountain Arts
"It is very frustrating and difficult for us to dispel these rumors, but
please help us in doing so by passing this email along to your friends and
spreading the word that there is no way that bluemountain.com can spread a
virus. Our electronic greeting cards are simply web pages that you view
with your browser. Our email notifications are only text messages without
any attached files. When someone sends or receives cards from our site,
they do not actually download to their computer any file that might contain
a virus. We are worried that these rumors are hurting our free card
efforts, and hope that you can help us set the record straight."

http://www.bluemountain.com

April 2003

Some miscreant has decided to make this hoax true by creating a virus that appears to be an e-card from Blue Mountain Cards. If you get an e-mail message that says you have an e-card from someone and the card is a link back to the Bluemountain.com website, it is probably a real e-card. For example, the following is an e-card I sent to myself. The link back to Bluemountain is in blue.

Subject: Hi, I sent you an eCard from BlueMountain.com
To: hoaxmaster@ciac.org

To view your eCard, choose from the options below.

Click on the following link.
http://www.bluemountain.com/view.pd?i=64039350&m=8658&rr=y&source=bma999

OR

Copy and paste the above link into your web browser's "address" window.

OR

Enter the following eCard Number, 640393508658, on our Card Pick Up Window at
http://www.bluemountain.com/findit.pd

If you have any comments or questions, please visit
http://www.bluemountain.com/customer/index.pd?source=bma999

Thanks for using BlueMountain.com.


On the other hand, if the message contains an executable file attachment such as BlueMountainCard.pif shown below in red, don't click on the attachment as it is probably the w32.HLLW.Cult@mm virus.

Subject: Hi, I sent you an eCard from BlueMountain.com

To view your eCard, open the attachment

If you have any comments or questions, please visit
http://www.bluemountain.com/customer/index.pd

Thanks for using BlueMountain.com.

BlueMountaineCard.pif

Related linksblue mountain
w32.HLLW.Cult@mm virus

Back


Click here
To Tell A Friend About This Site